Come Fly With Me

Monday, June 7, 2014

5 hours and 35 minutes until we land…

It’s been a busy 24 hours since I got back into Princeton in preparation for this flight. I really didn’t know what to expect from an international flight; I half expected to get taken away by the TSA because I’m wearing a Yankees t-shirt, or something like that (being from New York, you’re constantly paranoid that the authority figures of the world are actually Red Sox fans). Luckily, without much delay or difficulty, here I am on Virgin Atlantic, flight VS 2, bound for Heathrow.

As an inexperienced flyer, I had a bit of trouble mentally preparing for this trans-Atlantic journey. Instead of dreams of sugar plums dancing in my head last night, I unfortunately had visions of angry government agents detaining me in security. Although these fears were completely unfounded, I was definitely more alert today than normal (my two preparatory coffees probably didn’t help much). It really is amazing how keen your senses become when you’re aware of wand-bearing airline employees lurking around every corner. To veteran flyers, I must have looked like Don Quixote (pronounced “Don Kwik-sote” by my British hosts), or Maxwell Smart trying to navigate the twists and turns of Newark Liberty. Fortunately, many members of the choir are in fact quite seasoned world-travelers, and were more than willing to lend a hand to their high-strung flying companion.

I feel so fortunate to be a part of such a selfless community of individuals. I’ve been in choirs before where, although there is an innate musical understanding among the singers, there is no friendship. Thanks to Dr. Jordan, Williamson Voices is not one of those choirs. The loving, compassionate family that has been built within the choir is truly remarkable and reminds me each and every day why I love what I do. Even though today has been trying on my already tightly-wound nerves, I never once felt like I was alone. My friends have been with me every step of the way.

An added bonus:

Now, as an “experienced flyer,” I feel I’ve gained a new understanding and appreciation for one of my already favorite songs—Sinatra’s “Come Fly With Me.” While the song doesn’t speak of taking your shoes off at security or turbulence, it certainly captures the excitement of exploring new territories with the people you love. For me, those people are the members of the Williamson family.

So, everyone, sit back, relax, and buckle your seat belts—“let’s take off in the blue.”
airport

About choralmusicinstitute

Presented by Westminster Choir College of Rider University and Oxford University's St. Stephen's House, the one-week institute provides instruction to all levels of conductors.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

